I predict a riot


3 days after the riots started in London, they have hit Birmingham, starting only a little less than an hour than I had left the city centre. It seems ridiculous that some of the shops that I wondered into today are now smashed and emptied by some kids.

The riots in London, because they were so far removed I suppose, didn’t really affect me but now they are closer to where I live, I can see how desperately worrying they are. The madness and inhumanity of it and how it seems to be without rhyme or reason is really harrowing. I thought our society was supposed to be civilised and yet this continues to happen.

I can’t seem to see any real cause for these riots to break out and people’s accusations of it being purely criminal seem to ring true. They are disorganised and violent, unpredictable and unexplainable. It’s the type of thing you see in the news and think how terrible, I’m glad it’s not here.

The list of shops and businesses that have been smashed up is endless and growing, and I can barely begin to imagine what it will be like tomorrow. A ghost town of smashed glass and empty shops that show a rapid deterioration of the human race.

Leave a Reply

