New Beginnings


The first day in almost any situation is a interesting one. Full of first impressions, new people and fitting in. Whether it’s a new job, a new school or a new place, everyone seems to behave in exactly the same way. Pretend.
It is a human defence mechanism almost, pretending to be someone you’re not, to protect who you really are from criticism. Who of any of us can truly say they are immune to criticism or rejection? But at least if you were to know that it was some persona that you had put on that was rejected, the hurt would be shallower.
Knowing this, every first day I go into I attempt to be myself, to stay true to me and take criticism as it comes and every first day without fail, I can’t. I become someone I am not instinctively. I know I shall smile, elaborate stories of the summer and feign interest in everyone else exaggerated stories, pushing aside that feeling within me saying ‘stop’.

Leave a Reply

