Weekly Photo Challenge: Through


I had to really think about this week’s challenge. Easy as it would be to post a picture taken through a window frame or even I one I have through a picture frame would not have been all that original.

So, surprisingly, I returned to my favourite silhouette photography. I chose this photo that I took a year or so ago on New Years Day, because I think it provides an interesting frame with which to view the sunset on the water. Three different parts form this frame. The solid clean lines of the rock face, the detailed figure and the moody cloud swelling over the sky.

I particularly like this photo and feel it applies to ‘through’ in a  less obvious way. That day was particularly sunny for a cold January day and we spent it on the beach, but then the clouds crept across the clear blue sky and snow began to fall. By the time we were in the car, it was snowing heavily and we couldn’t get home and ended up walking in the snow filled dark. The creeping forward of these clouds, threatening to obscure the low winter sun, seems to foreshadow what was to come and allows us to look ‘through’ the present, into the all too close future.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Through

  1. Find Focus says:

    Lovely shot! I really like the composition and mood of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

