Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects


I feel like I’m cheating with this weeks challenge as I’m playing with field depth and focus rather than composition. This photo does have two subjects but one is in the foreground whilst the other remains blurred in the background.

Subject is anything that you intend to take the photo of, and I fully intended for the green plant to form the less focused part of my photo. The smooth, blurred lines saturated with strong, rich greens contrast perfectly against the harsh, brown, sharp bark of the tree in the foreground.

Many would look at this photo and only take in the focused foreground and dismiss the background as chance. I think this photo shows that even when there are two subjects in front of us, we tend to ignore the one that is more difficult to see, but without it, the image would be incomplete.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects

  1. I like it very much. The tree shape reminds me of a female torso. Love the contrast between the greens and the browns, and the soft blur to the crisp sharpness. Lovely.

  2. I like what you had to say about the two subjects.
    ~Anne

Leave a Reply

