Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused


I really liked this week’s challenge as one of the best things about photography is playing with the focus. A few weeks ago, a friend asked me to the gig photography for her first major gig. It was a great experience, I got a photography passed and had to adhere to all the rules.

She wasn’t sure about this photo, probably because she was not the focus! I decided to focus on her hands gently resting on her guitar, rather than her face. Not only does it add interesting perspective to the photo, but it makes it stand out and be different, as the main person is ‘unfocused’.

Yet it was not only the focus of my photos that this gig changed, but my life focus. I realised that photography truly was one of my loves, and gig photography, although hard, was one of the best things to do! It’s encouraged me to work harder, achieve more, because I really believe that I can be whatever I want to be, and now my future doesn’t seem to be so unfocused anymore.

Also, please see the singer Daisy Guttridge. One day she’ll be famous, and I’ll have been her first photographer. Even the photo on her soundcloud is one of mine.

https://twitter.com/#!/DaisyGuttridge

http://soundcloud.com/search?q%5Bfulltext%5D=daisy+guttridge

26 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused

  1. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused (thegirlinthesunglasses.wordpress.com) Rate this: Share this:PinterestEmailPrintTwitterFacebookMoreDiggStumbleUponRedditLinkedInTumblrLike this:Like4 bloggers like this post. […]

  2. Nice shot. I like the angle and the focus on hands & guitar.

  3. Robin says:

    Nice depth of field and perfect focus…

  4. Madhu says:

    Lovely shot!

  5. reb says:

    Good one! 🙂

  6. That is a perfect shot. Gorgeous!

  7. pix & kardz says:

    how cool is this – the lighting and focus are just right! thanks for sharing.

  8. Great shot that fits well to the theme! 🙂

  9. Nice shot. The hand and the guitar in focus but the face not is really good. So it is deliberate. Good work.

  10. Jude says:

    Lovely shot!

  11. Find Focus says:

    Great shot for this theme!! 🙂

  12. Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused « The Life And Times Of A Dreamer says:

    […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused – (thegirlinthesunglasses.wordpress.com) […]

  13. ailsapm says:

    Hya Daisy – seeing as there hasn’t been an official weekly photo challenge this week, I’m stepping up and throwing down a challenge for anyone who’s interested. http://wheresmybackpack.wordpress.com/2012/05/12/reflections/
    I’d love you to join in – the more the merrier. Pass it on. xxx Ailsa

Leave a Reply

