Weekly Photo Challenge: Free Spirit


There are so many reasons why I love this photo. Firstly, the girl you see here is one of my closest friends and I gave her a photo shoot for a Christmas present. She in herself fits the theme of free spirit, as she is so calm, loving and, well, free spirited. Secondly, I love the photo from a more technical angle. The soft colours and light of the chiffon skirt are juxtaposed against a vivid green background. The afternoon light on her skin makes it look flawless and a relaxed smile spreads across her face. The pose feels natural, not stilted in any way and I achieved this by asking her to walk away from me and turn when I said.

We are all free spirits in some way, and I think this photo really embodies that. Not only in a personal way, but also with the colours and textures that help to create a calm, peaceful and free image.

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Free Spirit

  1. This is a very nice photo of your friend. This is one that can be passed down the generations. Just lovely.

Leave a Reply

